Tuesday, July 19, 2016

Happy 35th Anniversary ANTHRAX

Happy Anniversary ANTHRAX. On July 18th 1981 ANTHRAX was formed in New York city.

Anthrax was formed in Queens, New York City, on July 18, 1981 by guitarists Scott Ian and Dan Lilker. The band was named after the disease of the same name which Ian saw in a biology textbook. The name was chosen because it sounded "sufficiently evil". Anthrax's initial line-up was completed by singer John Connelly, drummer Dave Weiss and bassist Paul Kahn. Kahn was briefly replaced by bassist Kenny Kushner before Lilker took over on bass and Greg Walls joined as lead guitarist. Weiss was then replaced early on by Greg D'Angelo, who was recommended to the band by Greg Walls. Scott Ian's younger brother Jason Rosenfeld was a temporary vocalist until Ian's former schoolmate Neil Turbin joined the band in late August 1982. The band recorded its first demo tape during this time. Charlie Benante (drums) later joined in 1983 followed by Frank Bello (bass) and Joey Belladonna (lead vocals) in 1984

Today, Antharx has 11 studio album with the current line up:
- Scott Ian – rhythm guitar, backing vocals, occasional lead vocals (1981–present)
- Charlie Benante – drums, percussion, occasional lead guitar (1983–present)
- Frank Bello – bass guitar, backing vocals (1984–2004, 2005–present)
- Joey Belladonna – lead vocals (1984–1992, 2005–2007, 2010–present)
- Jonathan Donais – lead guitar, backing vocals (2013–present)

#NewYorkCity #HappyAnniversary #ThrashMetal #Anthrax

Related posts:

No comments:

Post a Comment