Monday, July 25, 2016

On This Day 33 Years Ago METALLICA Release Their Debut Album "Kill 'Em All"

Kill 'Em All is the debut studio album by the American thrash metal band Metallica, released on July 25, 1983, by the independent label Megaforce Records. Kill 'Em All is considered as a groundbreaking album for thrash metal because it's new wave and combination of british heavy metal riffs with hardcore punk tempos. Its musical approach and lyrics were markedly different from rock's mainstream of the early Eighties and inspired a number of bands who followed in similar pattern. 

When Elektra reissued the album in 1988, Kill 'Em All was certified 3× platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) in 1999 for shipping three million copies in the United States. The album generated two singles: "Whiplash" and "Jump in the Fire" and was critically praised at the time of its release and was placed on a few publications' best album lists. 

The album was recorded in May with producer Paul Curcio at the Music America Studios in Rochester, New York. It was originally intended to be titled Metal Up Your Ass, with cover art featuring a hand clutching a dagger emerging from a toilet bowl. The band was asked to change the name because distributors feared releasing an album with such an offensive title and artwork would diminish its chances of commercial success. Metallica promoted the album on the two-month co-headlining Kill 'Em All for One tour with Raven in the United States. Although the initial shipment was 15,000 copies in the US, the album sold 60,000 copies worldwide by the end of Metallica's Seven Dates of Hell European tour in 1984.

Kill 'Em All is the album that featured Dave Mustaine (MEGADETH) as the lead guitar before finally fired after a gig in New York because of his drug and alcohol problems, overly aggressive behavior, and clashes with bandmates. Later on, Metallica recruited Kirk Hammett, who played in Exodus and was a one-time student of Joe Satriani.

Track listing
1. "Hit the Lights"
2. "The Four Horsemen"
3. "Motorbreath"
4. "Jump in the Fire"
5. "(Anesthesia) - Pulling Teeth" (instrumental)
6. "Whiplash"
7. "Phantom Lord"
8. "No Remorse"
9. "Seek & Destroy"
10. "Metal Militia"

Related posts:

No comments:

Post a Comment